Spending time on the internet saves lives


This week I will be talking about the role that social media plays in prevention of drunk driving incidents. In my previous blogs, Drunk Driving Info that Will Change Your Life and Drinking and Driving: Is it Worth Taking Someone’s life? I talked about why it is important to spread awareness about the harms of drinking and driving. In this week’s blog I will talk about some of the ways that you can do this. 

The Internet and Drunk Driving Facts

When looking up information about drunk driving on the internet it is important to be aware of some of the false information that people put out there. People are easily influenced by what they see on their phones. Recent trends in technology use show that people are using their smartphones an average of 3 hours per day. I personally know people who are on their personal devices for a much longer time than that. Technology is extremely influential and when used correctly can save lives. You can influence people’s opinion and knowledge about a subject when you provide the proper content. Taking advantage of the power of social media is great when you want to spread awareness about important topics. However, according to a Ted Talk by Tristin Harris, people are basically controlled by the content that they see on their social media feeds. The main message to take away from this is that we can influence people easily through technology and social media. 

Privacy 

I will keep my accounts private with unique usernames and secure passwords.

My New Social Media Accounts 

I have created a twitter profile that I will use to post updates about recent DUI incidences and other events related to drinking and driving. I hope to bust myths on this profile and also share stories about people who have been directly affected by drunk driving. With this campaign I hope to get people to think twice before they try to drive while intoxicated.  My campaign “If you’re over 0.08 don’t drive just skate” is on Twitter at @PreventionDrunk. I will also be punching the same campaign on Instagram at @PreventionDrunk2.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started